

## 2020 Annual Business Meeting Minutes Thursday, October 29, 2020 October 29, 2020—Zoom (Conference) Call

1. **Call to Order/Welcome-** President Brian Clevenger called the meeting to order at 10:40am.

# 2. Report of Officers

# a. Secretary -

Secretary Cassandra Spila presented the minutes from the 2019 annual business meeting.

Motion: It was moved by Katy Saalfeld and seconded by Emily Nicholson to approve the 2019 annual business meeting. Motion was approved.

## b. Treasurer-.

Treasurer Tenial Whitted provided a report on the 2019 expenses. As of October 24, 2019, IACRAO had net assets of \$139,954.09 with \$72,437.86 in checking, \$15,781.05 in savings, and \$51,735.18 in CD. There are currently 57 schools that have renewed their IACRAO membership for a total of 404 members. Additional renewals have not paid yet but most will pay eventually. The 2020 conference has 7 registered vendors, 14 retirees registered, and 157 conference attendees. The report was placed on file for future audits.

Tenial also proposed two possible budgets for 2021-2022. FY22 2021-2022 A outlined the costs for virtual district meetings and a virtual annual conference. FY 22 2021-2022 B outlined the costs of in person district meetings and an in person annual conference.

Motion: It was moved by Nathan McCoy and seconded by Katy Saalfeld to approve the 2021-2022 budget. Motion was approved.

## c. Professional Activities Officer

Professional Activities Officer Katy Saalfeld discussed the Bright Ideas session that is usually held during the annual conference. The winner of the Bright Ideas contest is awarded free conference registration at the next annual conference. Because the



2020 conference was free for everyone, the 2019 winner, Mark Mountain, will be able to use his free registration for the 2021 conference. Katy suggested that possible topics for next year's Bright Ideas session might include some of the changes that many institutions implemented as a result of the pandemic.

# d. Equal Educational Opportunities Officer

Equal Educational Opportunities Officer Kathy Delgado was unable to attend so an update was provided.

# e. Archivist Report

Archivist Nathan McCoy reported that the UIUC libraries continue to house the IACRAO archive collection. He further reported that he continues to collect and catalog documents to be placed with the archive at UIUC and is almost finished cataloging those materials already in his possession. Due the pandemic, Nathan has been unable to make a trip to deliver the items he currently has. Please contact Nathan for other items that need to be delivered to archives.

# 3. President Reports

## a. Past President

Past President Chris Huang announced the winners of the 2020 IACRAO scholarships. The Leadership and Service Scholarship was awarded to Tyler Pichon. Tyler is transferring from Parkland College to Illinois State University. The Leadership and Service for Underrepresented Students Scholarship is awarded to Carolina Escobedo. Carolina is transferring from Illinois Eastern Community College to Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Chris read a statement from Carolina in which she outlines her educational and professional goals and expresses her gratitude for the scholarship. Scholarships are funded by the 50/50 raffles and by t-shirt sales. This year's scholarships were funded using general funds.

The 2020-2021 slate of officers was provided to the membership thru the listserv and on the IACRAO.org website. The nominee for President-Elect is Jennifer Harbaugh from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. The nominee for Treasurer-Elect is Emmanuel Esperanza Jr from Moraine Valley Community College.

Motion: It was moved by Jess Ray and seconded by Meg Wertin to close the nominations for 2021-2022 officers. Motion was approved.

Motion: It was moved by Dena Lawrence and seconded by Andy Kindler to approve the 2021-2022 slate of new officers. Motion was approved.



Chris announced that there are no bylaw changes for this year. He presented this year's Distinguished Service Award to Pam Walden. The Distinguished Service Award was established in 2014 and recognizes an active or retired member of IACRAO who has had 5 or more years of involvement in the organization.

This will be Chris' last year as a member of the IACRAO board. Chris thanked the IACARO membership for their support and encouraged members to continue to get involved in ICARAO.

## b. President-Elect

President-Elect Marc Dale thanked the membership for attending the conference and acknowledged several individuals that were key to planning the annual conference. The Conference Program Committee was chaired by Gretchen Taylor (College of DuPage) and members included Sarah Lawrence (Waubonsee Community College), Dena Lawrence (University of Illinois System), Katy Saalfeld (Northern Illinois University), and Yolanda Zenawick (Joliet Junior College). The Membership Committee was chaired by Tenial Whitted (South Suburban College). The Technology Committee was chaired by Patrick Sears (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville) and included Emily Nicholson (Waubonsee Community College). The Vendor Committee was chaired by Emily Nicholson (Waubonsee Community College).

## c. President

President Brian Clevenger expressed his appreciation for the opportunity to serve as IACRAO President. Brian outlined some of the board's accomplishments for this year. The board was able to expand use of the new IACRAO.org website that was launched last year by including additional information for current and prospective members. Brian encouraged members to review the website for opportunities to get involved in IACRAO.

Brian thanked Patrick Sears for serving as the Technology Committee Chair. Patrick has stepped down from this position and the executive board has approved Emily Nicholson as the new Technology Chair. Brian also thanked Angela Snow, Communications Manager, and Katy Saalfeld, Professional Activities Officer, for their work in expanding IACRAO's social media presence and their efforts to further engage the IACRAO membership.

Brian also mentioned that the content on the IACRAO website, in *The Chronicle*, and the communications coming thru the listserv were modified to address the challenges presented by the pandemic.



# 4. AACRAO Report

Tim Amyx, Director of Admissions and College Registrar at Volunteer State Community provided the AACRAO Report. Tim is currently the AACRAO Vice President at Large. Tim outlined the resources that AARACO provided to help institutions with the pandemic. He also outlined different options for professional development and ways to get involved in AACRAO.

## 5. Old Business:

There is no old business to discuss.

## 6. New Business:

The 2021 Annual Conference is scheduled for October 27-29, 2021 in Bloomington.

7. **Passing of the Gavel:** At this time, the gavel was passed from Brian Clevenger to Marc Dale, as Marc became the new IACRAO President.

# 8. Adjournment

*Motion: It was moved by Jess Ray and seconded by Emily Nicholson to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 11:44am.* 

Respectfully submitted,

Cassandra Spila, IACRAO Secretary